Savory · Uncategorized

Mediterranean Green Bean Salad

100_5916 (3)This is one of my family recipe that has been in my memory for as long as I remember.

At home , we’ve always had it along with baked or roasted chicken. It’s a wonderful combination although I am sure you could have it with other proteins.

It’s fresh, oniony, garlicky, citrusy. Simply prepared good food. I don’t like to over cook these green beans and so I steam them. But you can choose to cook them in boiling water instead.

Ingredients:

  • 1lbs green beans
  • 1/4 medium red onion, diced
  • 3 garlic gloves (unpeeled)
  • 1 lemon
  • 2 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 handful parsley
  • salt to taste

Instructions:

  1. Steam the green beans and the garlic gloves until the green beans are cooked to desired tenderness.
  2. Prepare the vinaigrette. In a bowl, squeeze the garlic out its peels and mash it with a fork. Add the lemon juice, olive oil, the salt and whisk together.
  3. In a salad bowl, add the onion, the parsley, the cooled green beans and the vinaigrette and toss the salad together. Adjust the salt and the it rest in the fridge for half an hour before serving.

 

Leave a comment